TEXAS PUBLIC ACCOUNTABILITY CONSORTIUM (TPAC)

The Texas Public Accountability Consortium (TPAC) is a group of Texas school districts working to build on the success of community-based accountability systems already in use in districts across the state by developing next-generation measures and assessments that would enable wider use of such systems.

About TPAC

TPAC was formed in 2017 to build on the work of the Texas High Performance Schools Consortium and in recognition of the continuing need to develop alternatives to the A-F state-driven accountability system.

The Goal

By focusing on tools and methodologies capable of producing both actionable information and data that can figure into each district’s community-based accountability system, TPAC is working toward its goal of demonstrating that a well-crafted community-based accountability system can better communicate the quality of effort by a school and district than the state’s standardized, test-centric accountability system, which fails to provide a full picture of what is actually taking place in a school.

The Mission

TPAC’s mission is to restore agency to districts and campuses, and prove that educators who take an active role in their accountability can create rich systems that transcend any standardized system.

2022-23 TPAC Members
DistrictRegionContact PersonEmail
Alamo Heights ISD20Dana Basharadbashara@ahisd.net
Belton ISD12Matt SmithMatt.Smith@bisd.net
Blue Ridge ISD10Matt Kimballmatt.kimball@brisd.net
Bosqueville ISD12James Skeelerjames.skeeler@bosquevilleisd.org
Burkburnett ISD9Brad Owenbrad.owen@burkburnettisd.org
Canadian ISD16Lynn Pulliamlynn.pulliam@canadianisd.net
Clear Creek ISD4Karen Englekengle@ccisd.net
College Station ISD6Mike Martindalemmartindale@csisd.org
Coppell ISD10Brad A. Huntbhunt@coppellisd.com
Corsicana ISD12Diane Davis Frostdiane.frost@cisd.org
El Paso ISD19Diana Sayavedradisayave@episd.org
Elgin ISD13Jana Rueterjana.rueter@elginisd.net
Fort Stockton ISD18Gabriel Zamoragabriel.zamora@fsisd.net
Frisco ISD10Mike Waldripmikewaldrip@friscoisd.org
Georgetown ISD13Fred Brentbrentf@georgetownisd.org
Gladewater ISD7Sedric G. Clarkclarks@gladewaterisd.com
Godley ISD11Rich Dearcdear@godleyisd.net
Grapevine-Colleyville ISD11Robin S. Ryanrobin.ryan@gcisd.net
Jim Ned CISD14Glen Tealgteal@jimned.esc14.net
Leander ISD13Bruce Gearingbruce.gearing@leanderisd.org
Lewisville ISD11Lori Rapprappl@lisd.net
Lubbock-Cooper ISD17Keith Bryantkbryant@lcisd.net
Lytle ISD20Michelle Carroll Smithmichelle.smith@lytleisd.org
Midway ISD (ESC 12)12George E. Kazanasgeorge.kazanas@midwayisd.org
Prosper ISD10Holly Fergusonhjferguson@prosper-isd.net
Roscoe Collegiate ISD14Guillermo Manchagmancha@roscoe.esc14.net
Royse City ISD10Kevin Worthyworthyk@rcisd.org
San Angelo ISD15Carl Dethloffcarl.dethloff@saisd.org
Splendora ISD6Jeff Burkejburke@splendoraisd.org
Sunnyvale ISD10Doug Williamsdoug.williams@sunnyvaleisd.com
Sunray Collegiate ISD16Marshall A. Harrisonmarshall.harrison@region16.net
Throckmorton Collegiate ISD9Michelle Clinecline@throck.org
Victoria ISD3Quintin Shepherdquintin.shepherd@visd.net

Upcoming Meetings

The Texas Public Accountability Consortium’s work on community-based accountability is not part of the Local Accountability System pilot established by TEA in response to House Bill 22, 85th Legislature, although several TPAC districts are participating in the TEA pilot.

What does TPAC do?

An update on the efforts of the Texas Public Accountability Consortium (TPAC) is included in the December 2018 report of the Texas High Performance Schools Consortium (THPSC), a group of 22 school districts charged with informing the governor, Texas Legislature, State Board of Education, and commissioner of education on methods for improving student learning in Texas public schools.

Latest News on Community-Based Accountability

The Benefits of Benefits-Based Accountability

by Quintin Shepherd and Roland Toscano This article originally appeared in the fall 2022 issue of TASA INSIGHT. Dr. Quintin Shepherd is superintendent of Victoria ISD and works as adjunct professor at University of Houston-Victoria. He has served as a superintendent for the past 18 years in three states. Roland Toscano, East Central ISD...

Apply to Join the 2022-23 TPAC by August 26

The Texas Public Accountability Consortium (TPAC) — TASA’s popular district-led network of school leaders looking to transform the traditional A-F accountability system into a Community-Based Accountability System — is expanding for 2022-23! Superintendents interested in creating a system of accountability that empowers communities and...

Designing Accountability for Your Community

Doug Williams is the 2021-22 president of the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) and the superintendent of Sunnyvale ISD, which is a member of the Texas Public Accountability Consortium (TPAC). This article was originally published in the fall 2021 issue of TASA's INSIGHT journal.  During the first week of October 2021, 40 districts...

Striving Toward a Better Accountability System

I will soon be starting my 10th year as a superintendent in Texas and this past year has been by far, the most challenging to date. There are few words that can describe the incredible complexity involved in meeting our student’s academic needs, caring for their social & emotional wellness all the while safeguarding the physical health of...

Fort Bend ISD Testing New Community-Based Accountability System

Starting with the 2019-20 school year, Fort Bend ISD will test a new community-based accountability system on several of its campuses. The district, a member of the Texas Public Accountability Consortium (TPAC) since 2018, has been working on the new accountability system, which will show which campus improvement processes are effective and which...

Frisco ISD Develops a Community-Based Accountability System

Starting in 2020, Frisco ISD will publish a community-based accountability report in the fall of each school year in conjunction with the release of the state accountability ratings. The district, a member of the Texas Public Accountability Consortium (TPAC), has been working with community members to identify a diverse set of meaningful data points...

Alamo Heights ISD Video Explains Community-Based Accountability

Alamo Heights ISD, a member of the Texas Public Accountability Consortium (TPAC), a group of Texas school districts developing next-generation measures and assessments to enable wider use of community-based accountability systems (CBAS), has produced this video to help introduce the district's new CBAS:   In August 2019 the district published...

TASA Executive Director Interviewed on A-F, Community-Based Accountability on “Capital Tonight”

On August 15, 2019, TASA Executive Director Kevin Brown was interviewed live on Spectrum News’ “Capital Tonight” program about the A-F district and campus accountability system and TASA’s support of community-based accountability in Texas. Watch the video.

Alamo Heights ISD Publishes First Community-Based Accountability Report

On August 16, 2019, Alamo Heights ISD published its first report resulting from the district's community-based accountability system (CBAS). Over the past two years, with input of school staff, leaders, students, and community members, the district designed a comprehensive local CBAS that relies on multiple data sources, authentic assessment...

Sunnyvale ISD Releases Community Report

During the week of August 15, 2019, when the state's A-F campus and district ratings were released, Sunnyvale ISD sent a copy of its annual Community Report to all Sunnyvale mailboxes. “We believe that the Community-Based Accountability Report is a reflection of the beliefs and aspirations of our community,” Superintendent Doug Williams said. “It...

TPAC Featured in INSIGHT

Share This